Chhurbura roh em em; Nahaia'n neihsak phet a tum!

[ The Cross ]


I believe it is becuase in the cross alone,  pain and evil meet in consummate conflict.  In the cross alone are integrated love and justice,  the twin foundation upon which  we may build our moral and spiritual home,  individually  and nationaly .  It is theorotically and practically impossible to build any  community  apart from love and justice.
In the cross alone   I see the marvel of forgiveness as a starting point for rebuilding one’s life. Hear the words of an elementary schoolteacher :

He came to my desk with a quivering lip.
The lesson was done.
“Dear teacher, I want a new page,” he said,
I have spoiled this one.”

I took the old page, torn and blotted,
And gave him a new one, all unspotted,
And into his sad eyes smiled:
“Do better now, my child.”

I came to God’s throne with a trembling heart.
The year’s work was done.
“Dear Father, I want a new life,” I said,
“I have spoiled this one.”

He took my old life, torn and blotted,
And gave me a new one, all unspotted,
And into my sad heart smiled:
“Do better now, my child.”

Source: Can Man Live Without God by Ravi Zacharias

If you would like to put forgiveness in perspective, look at the logic of unforgiveness, to which Bosnia  provides a most  graphic example. The wholesale  slaughter of people in Bosnia and Rwanda is a bloody reminder of human vengeance and of life whithout the cross. The cross does not minimize evil,  rather, it shows evil at its uglies,  even while offering a new beggining   in the most profound sense of the term.  But the grace of forgiveness,  because  God Himself had paid the price is a  Chrristian distinctive  and stands splendidly against  our  hate-filled, unforgiving world.  God;s forgiveness  gives us a fresh start !
Leave a Reply

